The following days are observed as public holidays by the University of Otago:

  • New Year's Day
  • The day after New Year's Day
  • Waitangi Day
  • Anzac Day (25 April)
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Otago Anniversary Day (observed on Easter Tuesday)
  • Queen's Birthday
  • Matariki
  • Labour Day
  • Christmas Day
  • Boxing Day

The University observes Easter Tuesday as a holiday in lieu of Anniversary Day in Otago. In all other provinces, Easter Tuesday is a normal working day and the Anniversary Day of the province is instead recognised.

In the event of a public holiday falling on a Saturday or Sunday, the public holiday will be observed on the succeeding Monday and in the event of another public holiday falling on that Monday, the other holiday shall be observed on the succeeding Tuesday.

Further information

Public holidays

The University does not allow the transfer of public holidays to another day.

Related Articles (1)